Sundays in Bed With… #MyWeeklyWrapUp [173]

We’re back with another Sundays in Bed With… meme! This meme dares to ask you what book has been in your bed this morning and is hosted by Midnight Book Girl. Come share what book you’ve spent your time curled up reading in bed with or which book you wish you had time to read today!

I’ll be wrapping up my Sunday in bed starting my re-read of The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang. I’m reading this (and hopefully the whole series) with Julie, Chris and Joanna and I’m excited but also nervous to dive back in because I know what’s coming! 😂 But I’m looking forward to crossing a series off of my ‘need-to-finish’ list so let’s do this.

📖 SYNOPSIS

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.

When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.

But surprises aren’t always good.

Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.

For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away…

Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity… and that it may already be too late.

What are you currently reading?

I have to admit that I’m not looking forward to going to the office tomorrow. Last week was trying. My Friday the 13th was a literal horror show nightmare and I was eaten up by anxiety and insecurities. Both still have me in quite a tight grip and although I took the time yesterday to really try to not focus on the work things that have upped my stress levels to 3,000—ignorance was a little blissful!—I still haven’t been able to fully unwind and relax. I hate it. 🙃 Oof, it’s so much and I don’t want to talk about it but it’s also the only thing on my mind. I just need to keep repeating the mantra that I can do it, everything is going to be okay, one hour, one day, one week at a time!

On books: I spent all night reading one of my ARCs and it was not only wonderfully nostalgic, but it was cathartic too. I ugly cried at 2 AM and ugh, I needed it and UGH, was it worth it! I found a new 5-star read in January and a new all-time favourite YA contemporary. 💜

On blogging: I think I’ve been doing okay with catching up on comments and doing a bit more blog hopping and engaging. I think this first half of the year is going to be tough to balance the blog and books and work—especially if the latter continues the way it is, which it probably will. So far though, I think I’m doing alright.

ICYMI, here’s what I posted on the blog this week:

trouble – troye sivan x jay som

I hope you’re all doing okay and treating yourself with care. Let’s have a great week ahead! 💜

13 thoughts on “Sundays in Bed With… #MyWeeklyWrapUp [173]

  1. I’m sorry to see your work life is so stressful right now! I hope it becomes less so sooner rather than later.

    The Poppy War is yet another book that’s been on my GR TBR for a long time. I think I first put it on there when I joined Twitter as I saw it floating around a lot. I’ve heard it’s quite good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ((HUGS)) Dini. Just know we believe in you, and you have the right attitude to take it a bit at a time (easier said than done, but still a good mindset). Yeah for books that made you feel. Those are the best ones. Enjoy your re-read

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry that you are having a tough time at work and I hope next week is a bit better for you. I’m happy that you found a new favourite read, and I will watch for your review. Here’s to a better week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry that things have been rough for you lately. I hope that changes soon! A good cathartic cry can be so healing! I need to find something to bring on the tears like that because I’ve been feeling a bit of stress and anxiety myself lately. Here’s hoping that this week is better for both of us.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s